Your Network

Recovering deleted items

If the server has been configured to recover deleted items, you might be able to recover files and e-mail messages that you have permanently deleted.

Recovering deleted e-mail

When you are using Microsoft® Office Outlook®  2003 and you delete an e-mail message, it is sent to the Deleted Items folder. Though the message is deleted, you can still access it in this folder. If you delete a message from the Deleted Items folder, or if you press the SHIFT key when deleting a message from any folder, it is considered to be permanently deleted.

If you permanently delete an e-mail message, you can still recover it for up to 30 days without your needing to contact the person responsible for the network.

Recovering deleted files

When you delete a file, it is sent to the Recycle Bin. Though the file is deleted, you can still access it. If you delete a file from the Recycle Bin, or if you press the SHIFT key when deleting a file, it is considered to be permanently deleted.

If you permanently delete a file, and your My Documents folder has been configured so that files in the folder are stored on the server, you can still recover it. If your My documents folder is on your computer, you will not be able to recover permanently deleted files.

  Note


Related Topics